News Releases

August 01, 2013

Vermont Arts and Creative Economy Events: August through Autumn

Arts festivals and celebrations of creative pursuits canvas Vermont's landscape well into fall foliage season. It’s no surprise, seeing that Vermont ranks seventh out of the 50 states in the per-capita number of artists in the workforce, fourth for visual artists, and first for writers. Visit a small town festival to experience creative crafters; journey to a music festival in the mountains and stroll through public parks of the Green Mountain State, adorned with outdoor art exhibits. Here’s a selection of the hundreds of performing arts, visual arts and creative economy events in the VermontVacation.com Travel Planner. Please visit the Vermont Arts Council online or in Montpelier to learn more about Vermont’s vibrant arts culture.

VISUAL ARTS

Catamount Prowl (Now – October 26): Bennington, http://www.catamountprowl.com/

Exposed (Now – October 15): Stowe, http://www.helenday.com/exposed

Jericho Plein Air Exhibit (Now - August 11): http://www.emilegruppegallery.com/

Art of the Animal Kingdom XVIII (Now - August 25): Bennington, http://www.thebennington.org/

Vermont Festival of the Arts (August 1-Labor Day): Mad River Valley, http://www.vermontartfest.com/

Southern Vermont Art and Craft Festival (August 2 – 4): Bennington, www.craftproducers.com

52nd Annual Art in the Park Festival (August 10 – 11): Rutland, www.chaffeeartcenter.org

International Sculpture Symposium (August 23 – September 22): West Rutland, http://www.westrutlandartpark.com/

Fall 2013 Watercolor Show (August 30 – September 27): Newport, www.memphremagogcollaborative.com

Killington Hay Festival (Labor Day- Columbus Day): http://www.discoverkillington.com/

South End Art Hop (September 6 – 8): Burlington, http://seaba.com/

Of Land & Local (September 27 – December 7): Statewide, http://www.burlingtoncityarts.org/oflandandlocal/

Tenth Annual Vermont Fine Furniture, Woodworking & Forest Festival (September 28-29): Woodstock, www.vermontwood.com

The Manchester Fall Art and Craft Festival (October 4-6): Manchester, www.craftproducers.com

Vermont Open Studio Weekend (October 5-6): Statewide, www.vermontcrafts.com

PERFORMING ARTS

Yellow Barn’s Summer Season (Now – August 3): Putney, http://www.yellowbarn.org/

Marlboro Music Festival (Now – August 11): Marlboro, http://www.marlboromusic.org/

Hills Alive! Festival of Performing Arts (Now - August 10): Southern Vermont, http://www.hillsalive.org/

The Circus Smirkus Big Top Tour (Now – August 18): Statewide, http://www.smirkus.org/tour/index.html

Burlington Ensemble Summer Serenades (Now – August 11): Champlain Valley region, http://www.burlingtonensemble.com/

Festival of Fools (August 2-4): Burlington, http://www.burlingtoncityarts.org/Festival_of_Fools/

The August West Fest (August 11): Jay, http://www.augustwestfest.com/

Lake Champlain Chamber Music Festival (August 17-25): Champlain Valley region, www.lccmf.org

21st Annual New World Festival (September 1): Randolph, http://www.chandler-arts.org/events.php?event219

Vermont Swing Dance Championships (September 13 – 15): Stratton Mountain Resort, http://www.vermontwestcoastswing.net/

Grand Point North Festival (September 14 – 15): Burlington, http://www.grandpointnorth.com/

Vermont Symphony Orchestra Made in Vermont Music Festival (September 20 - 30): Statewide, http://www.vso.org/

Vermont Fringe Fest (Sept. 21 – 23): Brattleboro, https://www.facebook.com/VermontFringeFest

Brattleboro Literary Festival (Oct. 3 - 6): Brattleboro, http://brattleboroliteraryfestival.org/

CREATIVE ECONOMY

Burlington Ruby Conference (August 3-4): Burlington, http://burlingtonruby.com

Independent Television and Film Festival (September 25 - 28): Dover, http://www.itvfest.com/

Champlain MakerFaire (September 28 - 29): Shelburne, http://www.champlainmakerfaire.com/

HackVT (October 11 - 12): Winooski, http://hackvt.com/

Vermont International Film Festival (October 11 - 20): Burlington, http://www.vtiff.org/

StoryHack (October 19 - 20): Burlington, http://hackvt.com/

TechJam (October 18 - 19): Burlington, http://www.techjamvt.com/

BakuretsuCon12 (November 1 - 3): Colchester, http://bakuretsucon.org/

Woodstock Digital Festival (November): Woodstock, http://www.woodstockdigital.com

Contact: Jen Butson, Vermont Dept. of Tourism & Marketing, jen.butson@state.vt.us, 802.522.7323

Source: Department of Tourism and Marketing
Last Updated at: August 01, 2013 10:56:34