News Releases

January 10, 2017

Vermont Agency of Education Awards 25 Presidential Scholar Nominees

The Vermont Agency of Education recognized the state's 2017 Presidential Scholar nominees in a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse.

The Vermont Presidential Scholars Program recognizes graduating high school seniors who show outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to their communities. Twenty (10 male and 10 female) scholars are nominated in the general category, and five scholars are nominated in the Career and Technical Education category (CTE). All Vermont scholars will be invited to apply to the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, which will announce its winners in May 2017. Additional Vermont students may be chosen to apply by the U.S. Department of Education based on ACT and SAT scores. Each year, up to 161 students are named as national Presidential Scholars - one of the highest honors for high school students.

"All of these students are being recognized not just for exceptional academics and skill, but also for personal leadership and service. Many of them overcame extraordinary adversity on their way to this recognition. We are incredibly proud to have students like this represent Vermont as Presidential Scholars," Secretary Holcombe said.

Career and Technical Education Presidential Scholars

1: Matt Mossey, Design & Creative Media Program, Center for Technology, Essex

2: Eliza Riemer Kissam, Health Sciences Program, Burlington Technical Center

3: Shelby Andrews, Health Sciences Program, Randolph Technical Career Center

4: Gabrielle Jolley, Health Sciences Program, River Bend Career & Technical Center

5: Maria Jacobs, Health Sciences Program, Cold Hollow Career Center

General Presidential Scholars

1: Courtney Amell, Northfield High School

2: Allison Barritt, South Burlington High School

3: Auguste Benjamin, St. Johnsbury Academy

4: Molly Engels, Rutland High School

5: Brigid Enright, Otter Valley Union High School

6: Ramsay Eyre, Burr and Burton Academy

7: Erin Gallagher, Burlington High School

8: Emily Green, St. Johnsbury Academy

9: Alexandre Hamel, Bellows Free Academy

10: Trevor Houchens, South Burlington High School

11: Jakob Kraus, Middlebury Union High School

12: Olivia Kuk, Burr and Burton Academy

13: Kenneth Martin, Richford Jr./Sr. High School

14: Angelo McCullough, Otter Valley Union High School

15: Anders Ode, Burlington High School

16: Sophia Prandini, Mt. Anthony Union High School

17: Aidan Remillard, Enosburg Falls High School

18: Caroline Tietz, Leland & Gray Union High School

19: Caleb Thibault, Leland & Gray Union High School

20: Olivia West, Enosburg Falls High School

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Learn more about the Presidential Scholars Program on the U.S. Department of Education website (

Media Contact: Haley Dover, (802) 479-1111 or

Source: Agency of Education
Last Updated at: January 10, 2017 14:52:54