News Releases

April 14, 2017

Vermont Personal Income Tax Deadline is Tuesday, April 18

The Vermont Department of Taxes reminds taxpayers that the deadline to file Vermont personal income tax returns is Tuesday, April 18. The April 18 deadline also applies to homestead declarations, property tax adjustment claims, renter rebate claims, and applications for the extension of time to file a personal income tax return.

Taxpayers who are not ready to file their Vermont returns may request an extension using Form IN-151 or online, but they must file extension requests by April 18. This extends the due date six months to Oct. 16, 2017. Requesting an extension does not extend the period to pay tax. Taxpayers must submit tax owed by April 18 to avoid penalty and interest for late payment.

Those who are eligible to file a homestead declaration must file by April 18. Homestead owners who qualify for the property tax adjustment must file both the homestead declaration and an adjustment claim by the April due date. Filing on time ensures that homestead owners will pay the right amount of education property tax and avoid a possible penalty from the town. Requesting an extension to file a Vermont personal income tax return does not extend the period to file the homestead declaration.

The department encourages filers to use e-file software, which is a quick and convenient way to file, especially with the deadline looming. Many Vermont taxpayers are eligible for Free File. Free File software vendors are listed on the department's website at www.tax.vermont.gov.

Vermont taxpayers may e-file homestead declarations, property tax adjustment claims, renter rebate claims, and requests for extensions at www.myVTax.vermont.gov. Once a return or claim has been submitted, filers may check myVTax for the status of their submissions and income tax refunds. The average time for processing is 6 to 8 weeks for e-filed returns and 8 to 10 weeks for paper-filed returns.

For more information, visit www.tax.vermont.gov. To contact the department, call 802-828-2505 or email tax.individualIncome@vermont.gov.

Media Contact: Charlie Martin, Executive Staff Assistant, Vermont Department of Taxes, (802) 828-3763 or Charlie.Martin@vermont.gov

Source: Department of Taxes
Last Updated at: April 14, 2017 16:14:32