News Releases

January 10, 2018

Vermont Agency of Education Awards 25 Presidential Scholar Nominees

The Vermont Agency of Education has recognized the state's 2018 Presidential Scholar nominees in a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse this week.

The Vermont Presidential Scholars Program recognizes graduating high school seniors who show outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to their communities. Twenty (10 male and 10 female) scholars are nominated in the general category, and five scholars are nominated in the Career and Technical Education category (CTE).

All Vermont scholars will be invited to apply to the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, which will announce its winners in May 2018. Additional Vermont students may be chosen to apply by the U.S. Department of Education based on ACT and SAT scores. Each year, up to 161 students are named as national Presidential Scholars -- one of the highest honors for high school students.

"I am so proud to have these students representing Vermont as U.S. Presidential Scholar nominees," Secretary Holcombe said. "Their exceptional academics and skills, as well as their personal leadership and service, are what set them apart."

Career and Technical Education Presidential Scholars

1: Taylor Florence, Engineering & Advanced Manufacturing Program, Green Mountain Technical and Career Center

2: Madeline Morse, Culinary Arts Program, Stafford Technical Center

3: Baylie Ordway, Health Science Program, Riverbend Career and Technical Center

4: Leo Schlesinger, Construction Technology Program, Green Mountain Technical and Career Center

5: Joseph Willis, Engineering Technology Program, Northwest Technical Center

General Presidential Scholars

1: Mason Charlebois, Vergennes Union High School

2: Kaia Cormier, Harwood Union High School

3: Gavin Deiss, Union 32 High School

4: Kira Hansen, Mt. Anthony Union High School

5: Andrew Hegarty, St. Johnsbury Academy

6: Tyler Jager, Burr and Burton Academy

7: Olivia Leavstrom, Richford High School

8: Shannon Mahoney, Bellows Free Academy Fairfax

9: Mary Markley, Burlington High School

10: Maddison McGuiness, West Rutland School

11: Jared Paquette, Richford High School

12: Kyla Perry, Ensoburg Falls High School

13: Gabriela Poalino, Otter Valley Union High School

14: Walker Caffry Randall, Harwood Union High School

15: Caroline Saba, Burlington High School

16: Julian Schmitt, Middlebury Union High School

17: Jared Sparr, Bellows Free Academy St. Albans

18: Elias Standard, Burlington High School

19: Grace Vollers, Woodstock Union High School

20: Maxwell Williams, Otter Valley Union High School

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Learn more about the Presidential Scholars Program on the U.S. Department of Education website at:

Media Contact: Haley Jones,

Source: Agency of Education
Last Updated at: January 10, 2018 09:34:41