Vermont dot gov
Alerts | Calendars | Directory

September 13, 2013

Hunters Looking Forward to Start of Vermont’s Archery Deer Season Oct. 5

Hunters are enthusiastic about Vermont’s upcoming October 5-27 and December 7-15 archery deer hunting season, according to the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department.

A hunter may take up to three deer in Vermont’s archery season with three archery licenses. No more than one of the deer taken during archery season may be a legal buck. No antlerless deer may be taken in Wildlife Management Unit (WMU) E, where antlerless deer hunting is prohibited in 2013.

In Vermont a hunter may take up to three deer in a calendar year in any combination of seasons (Archery, Youth Weekend, November Rifle Season, December Muzzleloader). Of these, only two may be legal bucks, and only one buck may be taken in each season. A “legal buck” is a deer with at least one antler having two or more points one inch or longer. All three deer in the annual bag limit may be antlerless deer.

In order to purchase an archery license, the hunter must show a certificate of satisfactorily completing a bow hunter education course, or show a previous or current bow hunting license from any state or Canadian province, or sign an affidavit that they have previously held an archery license.

Hunters must have a standard hunting license in order to purchase an add-on archery deer hunting license, except that nonresidents may purchase an "archery only deer license" costing just $75. Licenses may be quickly and easily purchased on Fish and Wildlife’s website (www.vtfishandwildlife.com).

New this year -- it is now legal to carry a pistol or revolver while bow hunting deer in the bow and arrow season. The pistol or revolver MAY NOT be used to take game or dispatch the deer. It is illegal to carry a rifle, shotgun or muzzleloader while bow hunting deer in the bow and arrow deer season.

Also new this year – a hunter must be at least 25 feet from the road to shoot a firearm or bow and arrow, and it is illegal to shoot across the road.

Tree stands and ground blinds may only be built or used if the hunter has landowner permission. This includes portable as well as permanent stands and blinds. A hunter constructing or using a stand or blind must permanently mark his or her name and address on it so that it may be conveniently and easily read. Landowners are exempted from this requirement. On Vermont State Wildlife Management Areas, it is illegal to use nails, bolts or screws, including screw-in climbing steps, or wire, chain or other material that penetrates through the bark.

Because additional restrictions apply, hunters are urged to read the entire law governing the use of stands and blinds on page 18 of the "2013 Vermont Guide to Hunting, Fishing & Trapping," available online and where licenses are sold.

Hunters planning their first Vermont archery deer hunting trip or looking for new hunting areas should get a copy of the 2012 White-tailed Deer Harvest Report, which gives the number of deer taken in each town in last year’s deer hunting seasons. It’s available on Fish & Wildlife’s website (vtfishandwildlife.com) under Hunting & Trapping and then “Big Game.”

For more information, download the 2013 Deer Season Guide under “Items of Special Interest” on Vermont Fish & Wildlife’s website. You also can call 802-828-1000 or Email (fwinformation@state.vt.us).

Media Contact: Adam Murkowski, 802-786-3860; Mark Scott, 802-828-1000; Scott Darling, 802-786-3862

Source: Department of Fish and Wildlife
Last Updated at: September 13, 2013 09:02:05
Governor Peter Shumlin | Policies

Normal Version

A Vermont Government Website
Copyright 2014 State of Vermont